Halal (halaal) is an Arabic term meaning permissible, lawful or permitted.. In the English language it most frequently refers to food that is permissible according to Islamic law. In the Arabic language it refers to anything that is permissible under Islam. The opposite of Halal is Haram. which means unlawful or prohibited. Halal and Haram are universal terms that apply to all facets of life.


The word "Halal"

The use of word halal is different between Arabic-speaking and non-Arabic-speaking ones. In Arabic-speaking countries, the term is used to describe anything permissible under Islamic law, in contrast to haraam, that which is forbidden. This includes behaviour, speech, dress, conduct, manner and dietary laws (listen to some aspects of halal). In non-Arabic-speaking countries, the term is most commonly used in the narrower context of just Muslim dietary laws, especially where meat and poultry are concerned, though it can be used for the more general meaning as well [1]. This dichotomy of usage is similar to the Hebrew term "kosher".

We will use terms Halal and haram only in relation to food products, meat products, cosmetics, personal care products, food ingredients, and food contact materials. While many things are clearly Halal or clearly Haram, there are some things which are not clear. These items are considered questionable or suspect and more information is needed to categorize them as Halal or Haram. Such items are often referred to as Mashbooh, which means doubtful or questionable.

God very clearly mentioned in the Quran what is prohibited from the food and meat. See 2:173, 5:3, 6:145 and 16:115. From these verses you can know what is Halal (lawful) meat and what is haram (prohibited).

"He only prohibits for you the eating of animals that die of themselves (without human interference), blood, the meat of pigs, and animals dedicated to other than GOD. If one is forced (to eat these), without being malicious or deliberate, he incurs no sin. GOD is Forgiver, Most Merciful." [2:173]